A Quilt Story

What I’m Working On

Well, In typical Bethany fashion, I’m in the middle of three different quilts right now (by the way, I’m not talking about unfinished projects, I’m talking about things I actually have out, that I’m currently working on).

One I have pieced and sandwiched but it still needs to be quilted. Oh, and I have no picture so it will have to be a surprise.

I’ve also cut pieces for a baby sized quilt (unless I change my mind and add borders to it) but it’s all in blocks still. I wanted to use up some of my left over red fabric from the quilt I made my husband for Christmas. I had to trim like crazy because I did the math wrong. Gotta love post Christmas craziness, late night sewing and math. I hate having to trim pre-cut 5″ squares down a 1/2″. Gah. I’ll be using Chantilly fabrics by Moda along with the pictured four patch blocks. (You can see my other blocks in the top left corner.) I think it’s going to be sweet.

2014-12-28 22.37.34

The last, and the one I’m most excited about, has a mostly completed quilt top. I’m adding three rows of charm borders to it and when I laid it all out tonight I was so excited. I really, really, really love it. It is almost completely a scrap quilt – I only used 1/2 of a white jelly roll for the sashing and the rest are from my scrap baskets. The blocks are 16 patch, sashed in white with three rows of 5″ charms. My daughter was helping me lay out all the border pieces tonight and she kept pointing and saying, “I remember the dress I had in that,” or “That’s the fabric from the quilt you made Grandma,” or “Oh! I love my pants in this fabric,” and “Hey, those glasses are on the sash of my old dress!”

2015-01-03 17.33.36

It’s pretty difficult getting the entire quilt in the picture. It may be the largest I’ve put together yet. I’m pretty sure this quilt will be for me. I just don’t think I can give this one away! Rebekah is asking to make a doll quilt out of the scraps. I’m pretty sure I will not be able to say no to that.

What crafty projects are you in the middle of?

4 thoughts on “What I’m Working On”

  1. I also enjoy working on multiple projects! It’s not a UFO until it’s folded away on the shelf for another day! I have a cushion and a quilt I’m working on for the home…for myself! 🙂 Thanks for sharing, loving your scrap quilt!

    Like

Leave a comment