A Quilt Story

2016 Quilting Goals Revisited

Well, I’ll admit I was not looking forward to reading my 2016 goals. I know I fell short for many of them. I was surprised I had as many as I did though. For some silly reason I thought I’d be able to quilt like I had in the past with a baby in the house. Ha!

So, here’s my review.

  1. Participate in a Quilting Bee.

I did this! It was a blast. I joined a Blossom Heart Beehive and I loved it. I’m now swarm mama to a new hive this year so definitely doing this one again! (I may be in a few more as well! Yikes! Quilting Bee addiction!) Here’s some of the blocks for my quilt (that has not been sewn yet!)

2016-07-18-21-45-33

2. Make a few traditional block quilts.

Yeah…didn’t do this one! At all. Didn’t begin it – nothing!

3. Work on paper piecing.

I did do some paper piecing. A few of my bee blocks were paper pieced and I did a few other projects as well. Nothing huge but at least I’m working on it in bits. I call this one done!

Here are two of my paper pieced bee blocks!

2016-11-21-14-52-392016-05-01 20.50.27

 

4. Work on curved piecing.

Hey, I made a flimsy with curved pieces. I love it too. Technically, it needs some work. Curves are tough. I got better as it went though so I hope as I do more curved piecing in the future my technique improves. I just need to order the very specific fabric I really want to back it with so I can finish it! Here’s the top!

img_0098

5. Complete 5 unfinished projects.

Ha. Hahaha. I finished two unfinished projects. They were my daughter’s Riding Hood Quilt and my aunt’s April Showers Giggle Box Quilt. I’ll do better next year!

img_9782

IMG_9845

6. Make more quilts this year than I did in 2015.

Yeah, this one didn’t happen either. Good news is that if I make this one of my 2017 goals it should be pretty easy! I only completed three quilts in 2016. The two I posted above and one more – a Bartholomew’s Reef Charm Quilt for my newest wee nephew! (Made a cute diaper bag too!)

IMG_9664

7. Participate in more online quilting events.

This I did do!! I was in a quilting bee, I participated in a scrappy trip along blog swap, Dwell block swap, scrap mini quilt swap, Amy Butler mini quilt swap, Fall mini quilt swap…I cannot remember if that is all or not. I did very little blogging about any of it though – my blog was sadly neglected most of 2016. Hopefully that will improve as well. Here are some of my swap blogs/mini quilts.

2016-07-21-23-31-29

IMG_9718

IMG_9667

2016-07-05-19-11-26

8. Create a few holiday quilts. I love the idea of holiday quilts but so far, we have none. Zero. Zilch. I think 2016 is the year to change that. I’m not promising a quilt for every holiday but I want to start making a few each year until I do have one for each holiday. I really hope to get at least a Saint Patrick’s Day Quilt (hey it could be an Irish Chain and that would help me with #2) and a Christmas quilt complete. More would be great.

Well, I started a Valentine’s Day quilt but I’m not crazy about how it’s going so there is that. I didn’t do any other holiday quilts. I did make a stinkin’ cute Thanksgiving pillow that I love. 🙂

img_0063

9. Make an I Spy Quilt.

Nope. Didn’t do it.

10. Work on organizing my sewing area(s).

I did this a bit but it needs a lot more attention. To be fair, this will be an ongoing thing for the rest of my life. I am not sure it will ever be completely done. I did reorganize my scraps into something more manageable. I still need to work on the overall organization of my areas.

 

 

Leave a Reply

