A Quilt Story

Queen Bee January

I’m super excited to be participating in the Blossom Heart Bee Hive for 2017! 2016 was my first time participating and it was a wonderful experience! This year, I’ve become the Hive Mama of my very own swarm and I’m also Queen Bee for January! (I had many swarm members request not to have January and after this rush of a holiday I really can see why!) I do however, have my blocks and colors ready to share with my swarm! I may or may not have spent the entire day neglecting much needed housework to get it all together…

That being said, the rest of this post is directed to my swarm members.

My January Queen Bee last year selected the Quartrefoil block as her bee block. I remember thinking that it just wasn’t my favorite block. I’d seen it in repeat (mostly with a computer graphic) and out of the different blocks I was toying over for my own choice, Quartrefoil just wasn’t moving me. Then I began seeing a few completed quilts. My goodness! It was one of those cases where I had a totally different idea of how it would look. My friend and former swarm member, Patti, made this gorgeous one that is all over Pinterest right now! It’s exciting to see such a lovely quilt with a few of my blocks in it! I was totally wrong about it.

So, in the end, I decided, I wanted, nay, I needed, a Quartrefoil quilt of my very own. You can find the block tutorial here.

img_0073

I did think of my mother when deciding this color scheme. She loves blue. Blue on blue on blue on blue. Blue makes her happy in every form and fashion. I grew up in a house decorated with mostly blue. She has blue dishes, a blue Christmas tree, blue walls, blue carpet…you get the idea.

So, in honor of my mother, I’m choosing blue! Everything blue or blueish works! I’ve set up a pinterest board with an insane amount of blue items because I never do things by halves and tend go a bit crazy! Anything on the board works as far as color goes! Please do not stress over color selection. If you would sort it into the blue family it works! You will see I strayed a bit from just true blue and have lots of blueish colors represented as well. I’m giving you the freedom to pick which blue goes where except for the navy. I assigned it a particular spot in the block. However, the other two prints can be any blue from cobalt to powder blue, aqua to cerulean, turquoise to cornflower! I hope you can use fabrics you have on hand!

Here are my color assignments:

Print A – any blue, turquoise, teal or aqua (except navy)

Print B – any blue, turquoise, teal or aqua that contrasts nicely with print A (except navy)

Print C– navy

Background – low volume – white or cream

I love lots of fabric styles but I’m wanting mostly modern fabrics for this quilt – no reproduction fabrics or batiks please. I’m fine with any fabric that fit the colors but just for inspiration I adore the Blueberry Park line, anything from Zen Chic or Cotton + Steel, Moda Grunge, Lizzy House pearl bracelets, Carolyn Freidlander and that sort of thing. Once again, please do not feel like you have to use these particular lines – I’m anxious to see fabrics I’ve not thought of! Prints or solids are fine for the blue parts of the block.

As far as low volume goes, I love, love, love text prints, music notes, maps, really graphic or geometric designs, architectural designs, pin dots…:) Of course, I’m excited to see what you come up with so if something inspires you, go for it! I prefer prints for the low volume background fabrics and would rather not have solids.

I’ve sewn up several sample blocks so you can get an idea of the different looks I’m going for. Please forgive the not so great lighting…I was in a hurry to get these photographed and posted!

img_0075

img_0093

img_0082

Here are all four so you can see the secondary patterns. Secondary patterns are the best!

img_0079

Please let me know if I forgot to let you know something important! I’m happy to answer any questions! I’m super excited to see what you ladies sew up!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Queen Bee January”

  1. Oh I love blues too and have been working on a blue and white quilt this year. Love seeing the example of all the blocks together. Can’t wait to get working on this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

