A Quilt Story

Quilt Finish #3

I may or may not have finished this quilt months ago. I know it was during the summer months – other than that I really do not remember. I did want to share it on here though.

IMG_9845

I have an aunt that has the gift of help. For real, you need her, she is there. She babysits when the kids are sick and cannot go to school or daycare. She picks my kids up for me when I cannot get to them or have conflicting mommy duties – even if the kid needs to be picked up in a town two hours away from where we live. If you have a baby, surgery, a death in the family, etc. you can count on her to bring homemade bread in various forms – rolls, loaves, cinnamon rolls,  sandwich bread, along with lots of sandwich fixings and likely a gift card to eat out. If you have a flat tire – even if you are a long way from her house – she will be there to pick you up and arrange getting it taken care of. She’s just dependable and really good like that!

When I finished this quilt, my husband immediately asked, “Who is it for?” I had not decided on a recipient and since I really, really loved the fabrics I was considering keeping it for myself. (I have a thing for Bonnie and Camille’s April Showers line.) When I told him I wasn’t sure I was going to give it away he reminded me that we really have more quilts hanging around here than we need. (Is this really I problem? I don’t think so but whatever.)

I had been wanting to make my aunt a quilt. It really was on my list of things to get to eventually. I had even planned something out in my head. However, his question, and the fact that I really wanted to do this for my aunt pretty soon, helped me make up my mind.

IMG_9853

This pattern is called Giggle Box and it’s from an old Quilty magazine. It was a pretty quick sew and I must have made the top two years ago! It’s been in my WIP pile for ages. I’m glad to have finished it because, hello, I love this fabric!!

IMG_9857

It was also a lot of fun to gift it! (I then had to call and have it returned to me to have pictures done. Ooooppss! But hey, my aunt is the kind that doesn’t mind running around helping with errands!)

IMG_9847

I do love a striped binding!!

IMG_9859

I used almost every last scrap of my April Showers fabric! This is my second quilt to make from this fabric. The first was made the first year I began quilting. It was a simple four patch quilt, and my first free motion quilted quilt. You can see it here!

 

Now, I think she needs a matching throw pillow! Good thing I still have some April Showers mini charm packs lying around!!

1 thought on “Quilt Finish #3”

Leave a Reply

