A Baby Sewing Story, A Quilt Story

First Quilt Finish of 2016

I think by June of 2015 I’d made about six or seven quilts. Ah well. Having an infant in the house put a bit of a damper on my sewing time. I have finally completed one quilt for 2016. Here it is!

IMG_9653

It’s a simple charm quilt for a new little nephew I’m expecting to meet come July! His mother is planning an Under the Sea nursery and this hoarded Bartholomew’s Reef fabric was the perfect choice! My sister-in-law pieced the quilt and I did the quilting. I think it’s adorable. Simple, but adorable.

IMG_9659

My local quilt shop has sold out of any Bartholomew’s Reef fabric so we chose a Riley Blake print for the back and used a Cotton + Steel print for the binding.

IMG_9654

This is only my second quilt to free motion quilt so it’s not perfect but I was pretty happy with the way it came out.

IMG_9657

If you look closely, you can see where I stitched his name. Can you tell what it says? šŸ™‚ You can also tell my binding is a bit wonky. Oooops!

We also thought that a diaper bag was needed to go along with this baby quilt so we made a chubby charmer as a gift as well.

IMG_9666

It was super fun to be able to gift these items to my sister-in-law and brother-in-law and I cannot wait to meet my newest nephew!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “First Quilt Finish of 2016”

  1. Enjoy the finish! No matter how much we do in comparison to others, it is just the fun that is important.

    I often love simple quilting designs as they can be really good looking šŸ™‚ This quilt is great and I hope it will be treasured and loved by your new nephew.

    Like

    1. I have to remind myself all the time that she’s the baby it will go fast. I better enjoy it while I can. I can always quilt when my kids are grown and I’m wishing my grandkids were around. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

