A Quilt Story

Bee Block for March

So, I’m finally mailing off my March Bee Block at the very last minute. This was a fun block to make. Part of the block uses paper piecing and I kinda fell in love with paper piecing at the end of last year. I haven’t had much time lately to do any paper piecing so this was a great excuse to get back to some of that. This was a very simple paper piecing project so if you’ve never done it, this would not be a bad starting place.

The block is called Wanta Fanta and the instructions for making it can be found here. This is one of my favorite of the Blossom Heart Beehive Blocks. The repeat is very similar to an orange peel block when done but without applique!!

My queen bee wanted the block done with black and gray for background fabrics and yellow, blue, turquoise and purple for the accent colors. Here’s how mine looked.

2016-03-29 11.11.18

I certainly squeezed in a few favorite fabrics. I love the gray with the equations on it. That yellow cotton + steel number is a favorite as well. I even cut up some of my prized cotton + steel bluebird fabric I’m saving for a project I have in mind (I only needed a teensy bit!) Oh, and Moda grunge fabrics are at the top of my favorite list right now!

I’m really enjoying being a part of a quilting bee. It’s fun to work with color combinations that you wouldn’t necessarily have thought of yourself. It’s also fun to try the different blocks.

Two more blocks to do before it’s my month to be Queen Bee. I suppose I should start nailing down what I want to do…

 

2 thoughts on “Bee Block for March”

Leave a Reply

