A Quilt Story

Curves

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who had been intimidated by curved piecing. I’ve been wanting to make a quilt with curves for some time now. It was on my last years quilting list (but I didn’t do it) and it’s one of my goals for 2016. I’ve finally gotten down to business and played around with some curved blocks.

My original plan was to make one block and make it a pillow. That way, I could practice curves but it wouldn’t be a huge project that drug on forever. I decided on the Fizzy block and got to work. (The Fizzy block is one of the Bee Hive Blocks found at Blossom Heart Quilts.)

I was very happy with the outcome and had a blast sewing this block up.

2016-02-27 23.15.10

The more I looked at this block and some quilts made using it, I decided I needed to do a larger project. I mean, the pattern you get when you repeat this block is too sweet. Although the piecing wasn’t as hard as I’d imagined, it takes a bit of time to cut and piece these curves. I feel like I’ve done tons of cutting but I only have a few blocks to show for it.

It does, however, give you and idea of the final outcome. Did I mention the repeat pattern in this quilt is amazing?

2016-03-03 22.47.30

I spent Girls Night at my local quilt shop, The Fabric Dock, cutting ย more pieces. I’m not sure yet how large I want this to be…just going to keep sewing until I get tired of it, I suppose. I’m very much enjoying watching this quilt grow!

3 thoughts on “Curves”

  1. I’ve also been too scared to tackle curves until recently, but decided that my word for the year (Learn) was an ideal opportunity to do just that! So I found a block pattern with curves which I liked, and have now completed several, so the project is well on the way to becoming an actual quilt, rather than just a figment of my imagination! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

