A Quilt Story

Modern HST Quilt Along – Block 1

I know it’s a second post for the day but I was excited about finishing my first block in the Modern HST Quilt Along. I think it turned out lovely and I’m excited to see how it all turns out. This is not a color combination I usually do and I like it. I’m also thinking about cutting back some of the fabrics I pulled and sticking with yellow, orange and dark blues only…

The name of the block is Candy and you can find the tutorial for putting it together here. (It’s a Shoo Fly block but the arrangement of colored half square triangles makes it look like a piece of candy.) I think it looks like the taffy you get in the candy stores in Gatlinburg, Tennessee.

IMG_9273

This block was pretty quick to cut and sew up. I love sewing up quick blocks. Now I’m very anxious to see the rest of the blocks and finish up this quilt!

4 thoughts on “Modern HST Quilt Along – Block 1”

Leave a Reply

