A Quilt Story

Work In Progress

So, I’m posting my first WIP (work in progress) Wednesday post. I’m going to try very hard to make this a weekly habit. Heavens knows I have plenty of work in progress projects going on.

This week, my big work in progress project has been a scrappy quilt. I’m using basic directions for the High Five Quilt found in Sunday Morning Quilts. If you’ve read any of my blog posts you will know it’s my favorite quilting book of all time! I began making these blocks in September when I just needed a break from the projects I’d been working on. They are fun blocks to make and if your scraps are handy you can sew a bunch of these together pretty quickly. Here’s one of my early batches of these blocks.

2015-09-16 21.43.15

I added blocks here and there as I had time (or sometimes when I didn’t have time but wanted to work on something else – I do that a lot!)

At the end of the year I had 200 blocks sewn together.2015-12-31 10.26.06

These are really fun to look at! πŸ™‚

Anyway, the pattern calls for 260 blocks plus an addition 5 large blocks I’ve yet to make. I laid these out to get an idea of the size to see if I plan to make all 260 blocks. Then I decided I really needed to trim them to size before making a decision. This week I’ve spent quite a bit of my sewing time trimming these blocks down to 5″ blocks. Look at all these trimmed up blocks! Eeeeekkkk!

2016-01-06 13.38.33

2016-01-06 13.38.17

I still haven’t decided how many more blocks I’m going to make. I think my next step will be making the 5 larger blocks and see how I like the size at that point. This could very likely be my work in progress for some time yet…

Check out the Work in Progress Link up at Freshly Pieced to see others participating this week!

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Work In Progress”

  1. I love the bright colors! Doesn’t trimming up blocks make them seem so real and final? I love that part, although the trimming itself can be a little tedious. Good luck in keeping your WIP resolution; I participated for the first time today, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

