A Quilt Story

Quilting Resolutions Revisited

Here is a recap of my 2015 Quilting Resolutions. I’ll address each one to show how I progressed (or failed to progress) during 2015.

My Quilt Challenges for 2015

#1 Finish five projects that have already been started. (These are quilt tops that have been sitting around for ages needing to become quilts.)

I finished five projects that I started before 2015. Woohoo! I finished the last one up in December so I was cutting it a bit close.

I finished my one block log cabin quilt. This quit top was pieced in October of 2014. I finished the quilt in February 2015

2015-02-15 14.35.47

I finished my Flip Flop quit. I made the blocks for this in 2014. I completed the quilt in April 2015.

2015-03-30 17.09.31

I finished my PB&J Jelly Roll Race quilt. This was the first quilt top I ever made. I made the quilt top in January of 2014. I finished it in July 2015.

jellyroll3

I began this quilt in a Block of the Month class in March of 2014. I missed one of the classes and never put my blocks together. I opted to make a baby blanket with the blocks I had completed and finished in September 2015!

2015-09-20 13.02.11

I began making the blocks for this quilt in the spring of 2014. It was completed in December 2015.

2015-12-21 09.46.55

#2 Make a quilt/quilt project with curved seams. I’m actually very nervous about this. I’m hoping to begin with a pillow top or a mug rug but I am determined to add this to my skills list.

Yeah, this didn’t happen. So sad. 😦 It’s on my list for next year and I already have templates printed to work on it!

#3 Make a selvage quilt. I’ve been saving…by the end of the year I’m certain I’ll have enough. Oh, I’m happy to take donations if anyone has some they’d like to get rid of.

Finished my selvage quilt. I love the Wacky Web pattern.

wackyweb9

#4 Make a sampler quilt. I received two books for Christmas with a collection of blocks. I need to made a sampler (or two or three) to show off some of those fun techniques!

Finished this baby quilt that was supposed to be a much larger quilt (after taking a block of the month class that I never completed!) Here’s my sampler!

2015-09-20 13.02.11

#5 Make an assortment of mug rugs for gifts throughout the year. This has been a plan of mine for some time yet. Mug rugs are fairly quick sews and great for practicing my FMQ techniques (which is in dire need of being practiced!) and perfect for sewing nights with friends. I need to go ahead and get this done!

Here are the mug rugs I completed. Not a lot at all. I really do not know why I haven’t made more…I really love them. I gifted the middle one in a Sneaky Santa game at Christmas (along with a mug, coffee, tea, hot cocoa and candy.) I’m still holding on to the others but they will probably become teacher gifts!

2015-06-24 10.09.25

2015-06-24 10.09.11

2015-06-24 10.09.00

#6 Make a quilt for my son, Landon. I have made a quilt for my parents, my in-laws, both daughters and my husband. I even have one for myself. I think he deserves one soon. 🙂 Fortunately, he has a great attitude and is not worried about it – although he does want one. I’ll be on the lookout for lots of nerdy fabrics (Sudoku, crossword puzzles, periodic table, equations, etc.) to complete this project.

Finished Landon’s quilt  in December 2015, just in time for Christmas!

2015-12-21 09.52.25

 

#7 Make an Eye Spy Quilt. I really, really want to do one of these and I have a great design in mind – just need to collect the correct bits of fabrics. Once again, I’m taking all donations of novelty scraps!

I began an Eye Spy Quilt top and have some 5″ squares cut for a second one. I have recipients in mind but it will have to be put off until 2016.

#8 Make more quilts than I did last year. I made 10 quilts and 1 mug rug in 2014. With five quilt tops already complete and several other quilts in various stages of quiltedness, I do not think this will be too difficult but just in case I wanted to make it an actual challenge. 🙂

2015 Quilts – I completed a total of 13 quilts. Three more than last year!

2015-01-25 14.49.242015-02-15 14.20.33SundayMorning_22015-03-30 17.10.482015-05-12 01.27.332015-05-26 12.58.38jellyroll5Wackyweb12015-09-20 13.02.39candycoated_82015-12-21 09.47.572015-12-21 09.52.252015-12-27 17.33.17

 

#9 Use my stash. I’m not making any promises not to buy more fabric – just the thought makes me a little insane. I love new fabric so much. That being said, I have a pretty decent stash. I do not want the idea of not having enough money for a new project to keep me from quilting. I have a great stash of yardage and scraps alike.

Here are the quilts I was able to make in 2015 without buying special fabrics because I shopped my stash! I think my scrappy quilts were some of my favorites for sure!!

Hip to be Square Pat Sloan Challenge Quilt

2015-01-25 14.52.41

Sunday Morning Quilt

SundayMorning_5

Scrappy Four Patch for Rebekah’s teacher

2015-05-26 07.09.01

Wacky Web Selvage Quilt

wackyweb8

Candy Coated Quilt

candycoated_1

#10 Pick a quilt from a magazine or book that I do not like and use different fabrics to make it something I love. I have a friend that made a quilt I admired tremendously and she was telling me that she got the pattern from a magazine I had a copy of. When I went back and looked I was shocked at how the fabrics changed the look of the quilt. I’d flipped past the quilt so many times and here my friend is with a gorgeous quilt using the same pattern. I want to try and learn to see past a color I do not like for a lovely quilt design so I’m hoping I will be able to challenge myself to look beyond a few things when making a quilt.

I didn’t do this one either. I still like the idea of doing it…it was just hard to get around to because there are so many quilt designs I LOVE that I want to try out. I still hope to do this one day but I’m not sure it’s going to happen – that’s just being honest.

 

Overview: having goals set really kept me on track a bit. Even the goals I did not meet I thought about and plan to get to most of them this year. It was nice to come back and revisit what I planned to do at the beginning of the year and try and keep on track with it. I will definitely be setting new goals for 2016.

HAPPY NEW YEAR! 🙂

Leave a Reply

