A Quilt Story

A Lovely Year of Finishes – December Goal

Well, my October goal of finishing my 18 year old daughter’s quilt I plan to give her for Christmas was a no-go. I do not think I even touched the quilt. The last months of my pregnancy were kicking my butt. November came and I made no goal (unless getting out of bed each day was a goal – and some days I didn’t do that), and then the baby girl came (yay!), and then I was busy with a newborn, so yeah, no quilting in November.

December is here now, and Christmas presents need to be completed. I’m no longer pregnant and the baby is sleeping better at night (finally!) so I’m jumping back in one last time for 2015. I’m going to keep my October goal though because I need to finish this quilt (along with three others, a table runner, some pot holders and oven mitts) before Christmas! Whew!

However, my ALYF goal for December will just be finishing Shiloh’s quilt.

2015-08-17 20.05.01

I did finally baste this top so it is sitting, rolled up on my sewing table, ready to be quilted and have the binding attached. Honestly, once I get a quilt basted I feel a bit like I’m home free – it is certainly my least favorite part. I hope to start quilting this on Monday  and should have it done by the end of the week.

So, there you have it..my December A Lovely Year of Finishes goal. You can see more goals at Sew Bittersweet Designs by clicking on the button below.

image007

3 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes – December Goal”

  1. I thought I commented on your lovely quilt, so if this is a duplicate, feel free to delete. I love the black and white with a dash of the orange. I’m amazed that you get so much done with a new baby. Beautiful baby pictures by the way.

    Like

  2. Thanks Marti. I’m not really getting that much done with a newborn…just being hopeful. We shall see how it pans out. I do believe I can get this quilted with her though. 🙂 Lol. The rest of my list – well, we shall see. My fingers are crossed.

    Like

  3. Oh my you are busy, pregnancy, a newborn. The good thing about goals is that they give us something to aim for, we may not get them done, but we usually get a little closer. This quilt is gorgeous, lucky niece. Good luck, I’ll be back at the end of December.

    Like

Leave a Reply

