A Quilt Story

A Lovely Year of Finishes – October Goal

I’m so stoked that I’m actually remembering to post my goal in time. Yay!!

Last year, I began working on the Splash Quilt from the book Sunday Morning Quilts. I originally intended it as a gift for a couple I know but my then 16 year old took a liking to it. She’s rather picky and doesn’t always like the items I make so I decided I’d let it be her quilt. After completing the blocks I abandoned it a bit in lieu of other projects.

Earlier this year I decided to gift each of my children a quilt for Christmas this year. I pulled the Splash Quilt blocks out and completed the quilt top late in August.

2015-08-17 20.05.01

I put it aside once again because I needed to shop for the perfect backing fabric. (The quilt made a huge dent in my black and white scraps!)

2015-08-17 20.05.29

Well, it’s getting time to finish these quilts if they are going to be ready in time for Christmas (I have two more to make after this. Three are complete!) Also, the black and orange colors are very October, are they not?

I’m still super busy with work, chasing five kids that are in band, drama, art school, ballet, etc, and dealing with being 33 weeks pregnant, so it’s a smallish goal that I feel confident I can complete. I do, fortunately, have a great basting helper (my son Landon rocks at this job!) so I’ll make him do most of the crawling around on the floor. Me doing that right now would be pretty special!

Click over to Sew Bittersweet Designs to see what everyone else has set for their October goal!

image007

1 thought on “A Lovely Year of Finishes – October Goal”

Leave a Reply

