A Quilt Story

A Lovely Year of Finishes – September Goal

I’m late! I’m late!

For a very important date!

No time to say, “Hello, goodbye!”

I’m late! I’m late! I’m late! I’m late!

Yeah…my Lovely Year of Finishes Goal was supposed to be posted by the 7th. Over a week of coming home later than 6:00 (and many nights later than that) messed me up. Although I will not qualify for any of the prizes I still want to post my goal and try and finish it up. I have quilts that need to be finished!!

So, without further ado, here is my September goal!

After I began quilting in January 2014, I signed up for a Block of the Month class at my local quilt shop. It was a lot of fun but very difficult for me to make all the classes (hello, I have kids to taxi around!) At the end of the classes, I had 10 of my 12 blocks completed but none of the borders, cornerstones, sashing, etc.

I picked up all my extra fabric, the rest of my patterns and tucked it all away in a tub to finish later.

About a month ago I pulled it all out. I wasn’t even sure which blocks I was missing. I tried laying it all out and got frustrated trying to decide where to start. I really am not a fan of following patterns so I had an idea. I decided to take my completed blocks, my extra fabric, and just wing it to make a quilt. When I laid out the blocks I’d completed I knew it wouldn’t be a large quilt so I decided to make a baby quilt. I could use my border fabric for backing, my extra block fabrics for sashing. I even had a print that was supposed to be a border that just screamed binding to me.

Here’s my top. It’s even basted!

2015-09-12 09.31.51

Now, I just need to quilt this baby! That’s my September goal. Our sweet little girl coming in November will have this quilt.

Here are some of the block details.

2015-09-12 09.31.02  2015-09-12 09.31.00

2015-09-12 09.30.58  2015-09-12 09.30.52

I’m very happy with how it has turned out. It does look quite different from the original idea though. Like the owner at my quilt shop said, much better that it’s put together and being used instead of just taking up space in an unfinished project pile!

Click on the button below to check out other September goals!

image007

4 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes – September Goal”

    1. I am not a long armer. I wish I were! I quilt on my domestic as of now. One day, when all these kids grow up and do not need band instruments, ballet lessons, art school tuition, etc. I think I could manage a long arm machine. For now, I’m enjoying my time with them and the process of quilting at home. I love that you can post without a start. The prizes are not why I signed onto the Lovely Year of Finishes. It was the idea that I would finish some quilts and give me a goal! As for the colors, I think they are lovely too. I did not choose them as I got them in a Block of the Month class and they are not something I would have probably chosen on my own. I’m loving them though and so glad I had an opportunity to work with colors outside my own little box of fancy. I cannot wait to finish!

      Like

    1. Thank you! My life is just busy. I’m in my third trimester of pregnancy right now so my big kids schedule is wearing me out more than usual! In the past, I had the energy to taxi these kids around and come home and quilt until midnight. That’s not cutting it these days! Hopefully after the baby comes I get some of my mojo back!

      Like

Leave a Reply

