A Quilt Story

A Lovely Year of Finishes – August Goal

When I found A Lovely Year of Finishes in January I was so excited. I was too late to join in January. I joined up in February and then didn’t finish my goal. Gah. In March I finished my goal! Woohoo!

Then life got crazy with a capital C. Whoa! I didn’t feel well. School ended. We had some personal issues, that were exciting and good (hopefully more on this one day) but boy did it make our lives crazy. Summers are usually when I get the most done but this summer has been so full of events that I just haven’t gotten to much in the sewing world.

Things are, however, settling down a bit. I really want to keep participating in these challenges whenever I can. I start back to work on Monday but I think I can manage an August goal anyway!

It’s not a huge goal – very conservative. Just finishing the quilt I’ve been a bit obsessed with all summer.

2015-08-01 19.46.46

I finished the top about two weeks ago.

2015-07-13 17.17.10

I always seem to get stuck at the basting, however. After discussing our lack of finishing quilts once we have quilt tops with my sister-in-law, we decided we need a plan. Once a month, we are going to try and get together to have a basting day. It’s much more fun (and heaps easier) to baste quilts with a buddy. On Monday, she showed up and we basted two quilts. One for me and one for her. (We each have one more ready to go for our next basting day as well! Yay!)

I started quilting this selvage quilt last night. I’m about halfway done with the quilting and then will need to bind it.

2015-08-01 19.47.09

So that’s my goal! It’s small but I’d rather work towards something I can accomplish – especially with school starting!

I’m linking up at A Lovely Year of Finishes at Sew Bittersweet Designs! Hop over to check out other goals for August!

image007

8 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes – August Goal”

  1. Wow, what a good idea with your SIL, and how lovely she’s a quilter, too. I love your top and I know you can get it finished this month. Your shoulders might be a little sore, though. =)

    Like

  2. Good idea! Layering quilts is not my favorite thing to do, either. That’s probably why there’s a whole laundry basket full of flimsiest on my closet floor! Good luck with your goal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

