A Quilt Story

What I’ve Been Working On Since I Dropped Off the Blogosphere!

Well hello  strangers. Not only have I not been blogging, I pretty much stopped following blogs and really haven’t been online much at all! Life kinda took a few sudden turns that had me a bit worn out. Hopefully I will be able to share some of that soon.

Although I haven’t been quilting as much I managed to make two quick quilts for gifts at the end of the school year. My oldest attends a fine arts boarding school and her room mother was retiring this year. She wanted to gift her with a quilt that would represent the disciplines of the school – visual art, literary art, dance, theater and vocal. She picked out fabrics and I got busy. Unfortunately, I have very few pictures because I was working under such a tight deadline that I barely managed to finish the quilt by 2:30 a.m. the day it had to be mailed in order to get to her on time.

2015-05-12 01.27.33

It is a very simple patchwork with lots of fun fabrics. Sorry about the crummy pictures. They were taken quickly before I passed out from exhaustion! Here is a bit of a close up on the individual fabrics.

2015-05-12 01.27.43

And I love picking out binding fabric! (Did I mention I love picking out binding fabric??)

2015-05-12 01.27.47

Shiloh was supposed to get me a picture of her room mother with the quilt but alas, she is a busy teenager and it didn’t happen. Although it is not pictured, there was a large white square pieced into the backing and Shiloh had all her classmates and the faculty and staff of the school sign the quilt. She said her room mother cried when she opened it!

My other daughter had a teacher that got married during the school year. She picked out fabrics to create her teacher a quilt as a wedding gift. Unfortunately, we were last minute again and lack good pictures!

2015-05-26 07.08.52

Rebekah picked out each fabric (and really didn’t want any suggestions from me!) and helped me do a lot of the sewing. It was fun to let her be a part of the project. Hopefully it will not be too much longer before I have a permanent quilting buddy living in the house with me.

2015-05-26 07.09.01

She really did a bang up job of picking out the fabrics. I love the backing…and the binding!! Guess who loved the quilt?

2015-05-26 12.58.38

Her teacher said it was the best present she’d ever gotten from a student. Rebekah was so proud! Although I’m behind where I’d like to be, as far as quilting goes, I’m still on track to make 12 quilts this year. This makes quilt number six! This scrappy quilt is another way to use up my stash as well!

I’ve also done a few mug rugs – hitting up that resolution list for 2015!! Anyway, these are really fun to sew up when you want a quick, easy project.

2015-06-24 10.09.25

2015-06-24 10.09.11

2015-06-24 10.09.00

Now I’m working on a table runner for my mother. I’m using a lovely blue and white jelly roll and making these cute little blocks!

2015-06-24 08.54.35

Hopefully I’ll get some more work done of the table runner this week. I’m excited to see how it will come together!

3 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Working On Since I Dropped Off the Blogosphere!”

    1. Thanks! I’m so in love with that fabric line! I’ve already made several outfits, one completed quilt, one quilt top and I was looking through my leftover stash and thinking the other day that I have enough for a few more projects!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

