A Quilt Story

A Lovely Year of Finishes – March Finishing Goal

February was my first month to join in for the Lovely Year of Finishes. It motivated me to keep on working towards the end of my quilt (I really, really didn’t want to quilt that baby!!) I did, sadly, fall short on the challenge. Some issues with my machine kept me from finishing the quilt in time. So sad! I even tried to power quilt the last day of February to complete the challenge. I kinda forgot what a huge quilt I was quilting!! Now it’s March and time to decide what my finishing goal will be for the month. My February goal was ambitious…I had to sew a large quilt top, quilt and bind it (I’d already completed the blocks.) I do believe I’m going to be a little less ambitious this month. March is a pretty busy month. I’ve spent the last week working on the quilting for this quilt.

2015-03-07 15.54.08

I want to add a few more vertical rows of quilting to it and then bind it. It was my February goal but now it’s my March goal. I want to make sure this quilt is completed. It needs to be on my bed!! Here’s another up close shot of the gorgeous fabrics. I do not get tired of looking at these fabrics!!

2015-03-07 15.56.12

Here is a glimpse of the backing fabric. I used Dictionary Pages from Tim Holz Eclectic Elements fabric line. I’m a little geeked out about this entire line of fabric. I love them all!

2015-03-07 15.54.46

In fact, I plan to use the Rulers print for the binding.

2015-03-07 15.58.15

I’m linking up for A Lovely Year of Finishes over at Sew BitterSweet Designs. Click over if you’d like to see other quilting goals for March.

My Button

5 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes – March Finishing Goal”

  1. I have some of the newspaper fabric, too! It’s one of those awesome prints you just can’t help buying. It will be a lovely quilt back, especially for a quilt on your bed. If you can’t sleep, you could always read through the dictionary some 🙂 Good luck finishing this up!

    Like

  2. I dread quilting the large quilts too, but you did a great job. What machine do you use to quilt? I’ve been coveting the book print fabric and love that you used it for backing. You’ve got some neat fabrics in the top also. I love to look at scrappy quilts and see if I have any of the same fabrics. I’ve never seen the glasses before, or the yardsticks either. Very neat!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I have a Janome Magnolia 7330 – so quilting a large quilt was a chore! I’m pretty sure I’ll bring anything larger than a full to my local quilt shop to have long armed from now on! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

