A Quilt Story

Progress Report

By day, I work in a public school. I’m a school librarian but I came out of the classroom so I know all about progress reports. Progress report time is always a big time for students… time to see what’s going on, how they are progressing towards goals, and often a time to get things in gear and crack down.

I haven’t checked in for awhile but I’ve been incredibly busy. I’ve had many projects…some completed and some incomplete. I thought I’d share my current work in progress with you guys.

I’m so close to finishing a fun quilt I’m calling It’s Not Easy Being Green. I was inspired by a Red Pepper Quilt design from quite some time back – A Spring Quilt from 2009. (Here’s a secret, I have a crush on Rita’s quilts…I love them ALL!) So, I took the strip idea and hit up my green scraps. I ended up breaking my blocks up with white sashing to make my quilt larger and because I wasn’t crazy about the look of mine all together.

I also used a plaid binding ( Joel Dewberry, Notting Hill). I’m a few quilts into this business and I’m starting to find out what I really like. I love, love, love stripes, polka dots and plaids as binding. It’s kinda fun to make these little discoveries and begin shopping with that in mind!

It's Not Easy Being Green_1

These scraps are a hodge podge left over from many a projects. It’s fun to see them and remember the outfits I made with them!

It's Not Easy Being Green_2

And here is a little peek at the backing. It’s actually pieced so you can only see one of the fabrics but I will get some pictures of the back when I’m done – hopefully sometime this week. I’ve only one more side to bind and I plan on getting that done this week. There is something really gratifying about finishing one of these up!

In other news, I finally broke down and started playing around with free motion quilting. I had so much fun with it last night practicing! Here are a few of my samples. Please remember…this is my first time to ever do this!

FMQ_practice

I also have a pair of pants to test for a pattern designer. They are amazing but it’s all hush hush right now. I cannot wait to share them with you as well!

Now, I’m off to bind a quilt! Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

