A Bag Story

A Bag Story

When I began this blog, over six months ago, I subtitled it “Just a Peek into my Obsession With Making Children’s Clothing”.  Interestingly enough, shortly after that I began branching out a bit in the sewing world. Now I’ve certainly added quilting to my list of obsessions. However, I have a new one – bag making!

WFC-9

Now, I’ll freely admit that I’m not whipping out bags at quite the rate I do little girl dresses and tops. I’m not even making them as often as I make quilts. I am, however, adding them to the growing list of things I like creating with fabric and a sewing machine.

I’ve completed four bags now. I hope to share them all with you here but today I’m going to focus on the last one I’ve made. Mostly because I love the pictures I’ve had done (thanks you Jennifer Jones Photography) and I do not have any amazing pictures of the other three. I’ll have to get on that.

I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to test the Day Tripper Bag by Stitched by Crystal. You can find this pattern in the August edition of One Thimble eZine (my favorite e-zine of all time!)

WFC-4

When I first saw the bag pattern I had already been considering making my daughter a ballet bag. We’ve bought bags in previous years at the store but they never lasted through the year. I knew this pattern would be the perfect design for what we needed. I also knew that this gorgeous Arabesque fabric from Anna Griffith , that I’d been hoarding,  was perfect for this bag. (Please don’t mind my iron away pen marks that I never noticed until after the pictures were taken. Ugh!)

So, what does the bag feature, you ask. Glad to share!

  • a zipper closure
  • full lining
  • front outer pocket (perfect for a fussy cut design!)
  • two side pockets
  • four inner pockets
  • pull tabs
  • optional shoulder strap
  • handles
  • stiff or soft versions (according to the stabilizer used)

I opted for the stiff version of the bag. This was my first time working with such thick stabilizer.  Let me tell you, thick stabilizer is not for the faint of heart. Crystal does a great job walking you through using it and giving you tips for a more professional look.

WFC-3

This was a project that took several hours, so consider that when you are making one. It took me about 5 hours to complete it and it was worth every hour.

WFC-6

We get no end of compliments on this bag when we walk into class. And, best of all,  I happen to have one very happy dancer with a lovely bag to carry all her dance things around in!

You can see where I blogged about another One Thimble, August edition pattern, The Rainy Days Quilt, right here!

2 thoughts on “A Bag Story”

Leave a Reply

